Lake Size Matters

Our planned community in which our apartment building resides boasts spectacular sunsets, walking trails and a lake.

The lake and its adjacent trail either launches me on to my walks or receives me upon my return, depending on which direction I set out on.

Now I don’t mean to be a lake snob, but…well…as they say a picture is worth a thousand words and I am about to show you several. To follow are some of the lakes I have walked beside over the last year. Some were on our travels and others are closer to home…

This is a small lake with a modest fountain…

2015-10-03 17.48.30

Here is a larger lake with a bigger fountain…

2015-10-05 17.50.28 HDR

Here is a small manmade lake on the east side of our city…

IMG_2547

And here is small natural lake in the shuswaps…

2015-10-04 15.13.08

This massive lake is situated a mere ten minutes north of us. It is 13 kilometers (8.1 miles) long and 3 kilometers (1.9 miles) wide.

IMG_2362

And here is our lake…

IMG_2570

Just saying.

I mean it kind of looks more like an ambitious puddle than a lake. Or rather two dugouts butted up against each other. I think we need a fountain. Maybe two. If our lake had a name it would be Modest.

Wow. Blogger remorse. No sooner did those words hit the screen then I started to feel bad. It’s like I just called my own baby ugly. It may not be the prettiest lake, it certainly isn’t the biggest lake, but it is our lake.

To be fair this picture was taken after several days of rain, so it is pretty churned up. It is usually much clearer. Canada geese, ducks and even the occasional seagull find its dimensions to be just fine for swimming around on. They are not lake snobs unlike some people I could mention. Amphibians like it too. In the spring it erupts with frog song for all of May and a good part of June. Dogs go swimming in it, which the waterfowl frown heavily upon as does a certain cranky woman in the apartment building with an affinity for fowl.

In the winter the snow is shoveled off and people skate on our pond even though a sign posted last year discourages such activities. It also advises us not to boat (!), swim or fish in the water and definitely not to drink from it.

I have to admit for all its rules, regulations and modest dimensions, our little lake is growing on me. It may be small, it may be narrow, it may be weirdly divided in half, but it holds our bold, wild skies in its surface and reflects the weather in a way that our trees are still too immature to translate. I like walking past it, I like coming home to it and I like looking out at it at the start and end of each day.

It’s definitely not too big, but it’s not too small. In fact, it is just right.

Enough said.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

About The Good Slice (34 Articles)
Living a Pretty Good Life One Slice at a Time

Leave a Reply

